What I’m Backing: 5Pax – Fast Dice Games by Galliant Games

Okay, this is a party I’m hoping a LOT more people will join. I’ve backed one other project by Galliant Games and was really excited when they announced they were going to do another project: 5Pax – Fast Dice Games. It’s very sad, to me, that its just NOT getting the support their last project did (even though it’s a Staff Pick), as I think this has the potential to be a lot more universally appealing than Scrapyard Empire, which is a Steampunk niche sort of game. I think that may be the problem actually: this doesn’t appeal to a niche audience. General audience games tend to have a harder time funding.

Stats*:

  • Goal: $9,500
  • Funding Status: partially funded; ~20%
  • Total Backers: 80+
  • Interesting Stretch Goals: None.
  • When Did I Jump In: The first day. I was told about it about a week in advance, so I was waiting for it.

And, of course, now I talk about why I’m backing.

I love filler games. I back a lot of games, but most of them take an extended period of time to play, which is JUST FINE. If I’m feeling like a game night. Quick games that people can play while they’re waiting on friends or if they just want a simple, one-round game before bed or if they don’t have enough players for a game yet are great and I don’t have a lot of those. My family plays a lot of card games and those fill the need, but you can only play Spite & Malice or Gin Rummy so many times without wanting a little variety. But . . . good filler games are hard to find. What I like about 5Pax is that the intention is to be EXACTLY that: several good filler games for a couple-few people.

Another thing I really like is the fact that these games were made to travel. They come in a small box that can fit in a backpack or purse. LOVE travel-ability. That makes games so much more fun.

Also: not a wallet buster. Ten games for 25 bucks is fantastic. But, if that’s still a bit much for you, print and play is available for 5 dollars (you provide the dice) or you can get one game sent to you as a postcard for 3 dollars. There are also some deluxe and multi-pack options, which I always like.

Probably what sold me on this project was the company. Like I said, I’ve backed with them before. Now, that project hasn’t been seen through to completion, but it has thus far been very well handled. This company had proven that they wanted to make a good product that people could enjoy and were willing to communicate with the audience about a whole ton of different things. That trust enabled me to get excited about this project. Now, we just need to get more people excited, dang it!

*As of posting 9/18 at 12:00 Mountain Time

[><] & [::]

Leave a Reply

