What I’m Backing: Airline by Around the Clock Games

And we’re back with more Kickstarter awesomeness! To start off this round, we have a card game. I’ve backed a game by Around the Clock Games before, so I checked this one out when I heard AtCG had started a new campaign. Airline the Card Game by Around the Clock Games seemed like a simple, fun card game that would travel well.

Stats*:

  • Goal: $1,000
  • Funding Status: fully funded, several stretch goals unlocked**
  • Total Backers: 50+
  • Interesting Stretch Goals: Expansions to the game.
  • When Did I Jump In: First backer. That’s the first time I had the privilege. ;D

This campaign is one of those steady campaigns. They don’t do any huge funding leaps, but neither do they creep. It’s a very laid back sort of project, which seems to match the creator’s attitude pretty well. I backed the creator’s first campaign and liked the function and simplicity of the game play. I can explain the rules faster than most people can read them. Also, the delivery time was exemplary. So, when he reached out to the backers of the first campaign to let them know about this second campaign, I was pretty sure I’d back the new one. I did (FIRST!), and it funded in a few short days.

At that point, the creator did something very interesting and I’m watching closely to see how it pans out**: he unlocked a significant amount of stretch goals to hopefully broaden the appeal of the game. I’m not sure if this is a good strategy, as there has not been any significant bump in funding, but I appreciate why he did it. And I also appreciate the chance to get game expansions.

Simple is really the watch word of this campaign, though. The design is simple, attractively so. The game play is simple to explain, which was an excellent selling point for me – I cannot handle games that are too long or complicated in explaining if I’m not physically handling the components or watching play. The goal is simple. And I love that. Sometimes, creators get stuck in a real MUCK trying to make a game flashy. But simple, compelling games are so much more the welcome in my closet because they can be played nearly any time and anywhere. I hope Airplane manages to be one of those games for me. Rest assured, it’ll be reviewed on the blog.

I do hope this funds slightly higher than it does right now because I don’t want the creator to lose money and I want him to make more games! The good news is that there’s about a week left in the campaign and, if it gets the traditional final week surge, everything will be gravy. 😀

*As of posting 10/8 at 12:00 Mountain Time.

**Referential notes, see both instances of use.

[><] & [::]

Leave a Reply

